Book Review: Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl By Jesse Andrews

Finally, I have gone back to my posting schedule!! Let’s hope it stays this way because I am finally getting organised – all my assignments are getting done, and I find that I have more free time, perfect for reading, taking photos, and of course, blogging!! 

Before I dive right into the review, I just want to mention that I will try to resume regular blogging on Wednesdays, and I when summer comes around I will definitely think of some creative content for you guys – I am so excited to have more time to work on my blog and bookstagram page!!

Now, onto the novel. The title itself gives you an idea of the novel already – it is very different from what you will usually read.

First off, I am going to talk about the good stuff, and thankfully there is a ton of it in this book!! Normally, I tend to love every book I read, and I can just about count on my fingers the books I have not finished, and mostly it was because I didn’t have enough time and didn’t wait for the book to unravel its magical story! Anyhow, this novel right away hooked me off the bat. I was intrigued by the title, and the whole novel was very unique!!

To expand on this, I want to start of by saying (or I guess writing in this case 🙂 ) that Jesse Andrews got published for this very reason – his writing style. This novel is lighthearted, yet talks about many issues that people, especially teens, face in our world today. Not to mention, the characters were just, normal. They weren’t secret spies or super intelligent people who spoke in poetic verses, and they didn’t write ballads and sing them with beautiful voices by a bonfire that magically appeared in the book setting….. you get my point. These characters were ordinary people, just like us. I guess you could say that most novels try to make the characters seem as ordinary and relatable as possible, but usually they end up being really deep and insightful characters, that we still love – but let’s face it, I don’t think I’ll be able to open my mouth and blurt out deep vocabulary  that is super insightful with every conversation I will ever have. It just won’t happen. So right away, the characters were amazing!! Earl, Greg, all of them – they were really ordinary, and I liked that. It seems as if it would be boring to have characters that are a bit dull and have no exciting traits, but actually, it made the book more unique. I’m going to say that the novel was just ordinarily remarkable (sounds like something a super deep character would say, doesn’t it? It’s like the textbook copy of how to create super insightful and wise book protagonists. That phrase is just a full on out paradox).

Anyhow, this novel had interesting characters, and even though there were serious issues discussed in the novel, it was also really comedic. The characters being quirky and kind of awkward made the book hilarious, but it could instantly turn to a more serious tone on the next page, and you won’t really notice the transition (ahhh, the beauty in great writing).

So basically, the book had an interesting story line, an intriguing twist different than your typical teen novel, and of course, quirky and fun characters. Now, onto the next part – what I didn’t like.

Like I said before, there wasn’t much about the book I didn’t like. But, it just didn’t have that wow factor for me. I wasn’t incredibly attached to the characters and I didn’t feel insanely emotional when I finished the book – and let me tell you without trying to spoil the ending, some very emotional stuff happens, but the events didn’t set me into a state of shock after I finished. Anyhow, I also guess that this was the beauty of the novel – maybe it wasn’t meant to touch you in anyway, and it was meant to be so ordinary, which made it so ordinarily brilliant! (there goes another paradox). So a small part of me does, in fact, want the novel to be super cliche and be really deep and emotional so that I lie awake thinking about the book – but there is a different charm to it that I can’t really explain, so I guess you’ll have to read the book and decide for yourself what that charm is, or if there even is one!

 

And that is it for my review!! Overall I enjoyed this book – I would recommend this to anyone with a quirky sense of humour or character, and of course to anyone who likes an interesting read! And of course, I would give this novel about 3.5 out of 5 stars, and probably a bit higher, but I don’t want to say an absurd rating, something like 3.784 out of 5 stars (is there even such as a thing as a rating like that number?!)

Anyhow,  I wish you all a great week filled with reading and writing!!

 

Happy Reading, and until next Wednesday!!

 

 

–  Alina

Author: Just Bookish Things

Book enthusiast, and professional tea drinker. My blog is devoted to everything Bookish; treats, DIY'S, reviews, writing tips - you name it!

Leave a Reply

