Book Review: Crown of Midnight

Yay!!! So I am back and will resume my blogging schedule as always! If any of you guys are interested in seeing when I do my blog posts, you can check out one of my earlier posts here

So I decided to go back to blogging with a new book review post!! Recently I just got into the Throne of Glass series, and I fell in love!! Fantasy/Adventure is probably my favourite genre of books, and I love a good adventurous world!!

Anyhow, so I read the sequel to Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, which I am going to do a review on!! I also read Heir of Fire, and once I read Empire of storms I will be caught up and anxiously waiting for the new sequel!! Right now, I am reading the prequel, which is the Assassin’s Blade! Now let’s get into the review!!

First off, Crown of Midnight was just AMAZING!! I loved the book until closer to the end, but I will get into that later!

Sarah. J. Maas is just so talented – she rights so well and paints such a picture of Caelena, Chaol, Dorian, and every character in the book! I loved how in depth she got into the description of each character, and while some authors know how to make great characters, there is almost always a lack of plot. This novel definitely kept me turning the pages over and over well into the night. (Might I add they were mostly school nights, so this book really was that good!! 🙂 ).

First off, I adore Caelena. Her hardcore attitude and her wit is very amusing to read, she just seems so powerful and independent!! I also loved Chaol in this book, because his character shone a lot more through this novel!!

So, if you are planning on reading this book, I have to warn you of two things:

  1. You might die emotionally in the end
  2. You might die from the sheer awesomeness of Sarah J Maas’s story line

This book really took a number on me, and I didn’t really have anything bad to say about it except for the ending, but I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read the novel yet!! So, if you have read the novel and you are ready to hear my rant, read below!!

 

_________________________________________________________________

SPOILERS BELOW THIS LINE!

_________________________________________________________________

LAST WARNING!

Okay, I think I did a pretty good job warning you, so if you decided to read on, read at your own risk. (It’s like the restricted section in the Hogwarts library! 🙂 )

Okay, so I totally ship Caelena and Chaol, and I was so happy and overcome with joy once they finally got together!! They became my OTP in the novel, and I loved them!! But, if you have read the novel and finished it, then you know how it ended for them.

Needless to say, I literally died and took a break from reading the novel once I found out that they were not a thing anymore. Seriously. It hit me that hard.

It may seem foolish that I totally emotionally died after reading what seems to be the end of Chaolena, but I get attached to characters really easily, and it felt like they were so perfect together!! 🙂 So I’ll see how the books go, and my hopes are up! But after reading Heir of Fire, I think I ship another person with Caelena now, but I am not so sure! 🙂

_________________________________________________________________

Okay, and that’s it from me!! I actually managed to cook Christmas Eve dinner without burning the house down, and with no help from my family!!! I just hope the food tastes as good as it looks!! To anyone celebrating Christmas/Christmas Eve and Hanukkah, plus any other holiday I haven’t mentioned, Happy Holidays!!! And Happy New Year!! I wish all of you guys the best winter holidays and the warmest wishes!!

Merry Christmas Eve, and once again, Happy Holidays!! 🙂

Also, keep on reading!!!

 

Author: Just Bookish Things

Book enthusiast, and professional tea drinker. My blog is devoted to everything Bookish; treats, DIY'S, reviews, writing tips - you name it!

Leave a Reply

